Florida Board of Chiropractic Medicine

BOARD MEETING MINUTES

August 9, 2021 at 12:00 P.M. ET

The Florida Board of Chiropractic Medicine will hold a meeting Monday, August 9, 2021, commencing at 12:00 p.m. This meeting will be held remotely via https://global.gotomeeting.com/join/897549269, to which all persons are invited to attend.



Gretchen Saunders Chair

Jason Comerford, DC Vice Chair

Christina McGinnis, MPH Executive Director

BOARD MEMBERS

Julie Mayer Hunt, DC, FCCJP, DICCP Jason Comerford, DC Walter Melton, DC Anthony Oliverio, DC Michael Roberts, DC Gretchen Saunders, Consumer Ellen Ostman, Esquire, Consumer

BOARD STAFF

Christina McGinnis, MPH, Executive Director Dontavia Wilson, Program Operations Administrator

BOARD COUNSEL

Lawrence Harris, Senior Assistant Attorney General

Recording

Participants in this public meeting should be aware that these proceedings are being recorded. An audio file of the meeting will be posted on the Florida Board of Chiropractic Medicine website.

Participants are asked to mute themselves upon entering the meeting to reduce background noise. Participants will be recognized by the Chair if and when it is their turn to speak.

Attendance and Continuing Education Credit

Discipline is not scheduled to take place at this meeting. Pursuant to section 456.013, Florida Statute, and Rules 64B2-13.004 and 64B2-13.007, Florida Administrative Code, attendance and Continuing Education credit are not available at this meeting.

I) CALL TO ORDER

Ms. McGinnis welcomed everyone, provided an overview of instructions for the webinar, and called the meeting to order at 12:00PM.

Roll Call

Julie Mayer Hunt, DC, FCCJP, DICCP – Present
Jason Comerford, DC – Present
Walter Melton, DC– Present
Anthony Olivero, DC– Present
Michael Roberts, DC– Present
Gretchen Saunders, Consumer– Present
Ellen Ostman, Esquire, Consumer– Present
Lawrence Harris, Senior Assistant Attorney General– Present
Christina McGinnis- Present
Dontavia Wilson – Present

II) CHAIR/VICE CHAIR ELECTIONS

Chair-

A nomination was made by Dr. Roberts for Dr. Hunt. Dr. Melton seconded the nomination for Dr. Hunt

Ms. Saunders self-nominated. Dr. Oliverio seconded the nomination for Ms. Saunders.

Ms. Ostman motioned to take the vote. Dr. Comerford seconded the motion to vote.

Voting for Dr. Hunt included: Dr. Hunt, Dr. Roberts, and Dr. Melton.

Voting for Ms. Saunders included: Ms. Ostman, Dr. Oliverio, Dr. Comerford, and Ms. Saunders. Ms. Saunders was voted as the new Chair of the Board.

Vice Chair-

Dr. Hunt nominated Dr. Roberts

Dr. Oliverio nominated Dr. Comerford. Dr. Comerford accepted the nomination. Ms. Saunders seconded the nomination for Dr. Comerford.

Ms. Ostman made the motion to vote. Dr. Oliverio seconded the motion to vote.

Voting for Dr. Roberts included: Dr. Hunt and Dr. Roberts.

Voting for Dr. Comerford included: Ms. Ostman, Dr. Oliverio, Dr. Comerford, and Ms. Saunders. Dr. Comerford was voted as the new Vice Chair of the Board.

III) COMMITTEE ASSIGNMENTS

Ms. Saunders opened the discussion and board members requested and provided options for committee assignments. Additional discussion ensued. Updated committee assignments included:

- A) Budget Ms. Saunders
- B) Certified Chiropractic Physician's Assistant Dr. Hunt
- C) Continuing Education Dr. Comerford, Dr. Melton (serving as back-up)
- D) Compliance Dr. Roberts
- E) Examination Dr. Roberts
- F) Legislation Dr. Olivero, Dr. Comerford (serving as back-up)
- G) Probable Cause Ms. Ostman and Dr. Melton
- H) Rules Dr. Oliverio
- I) Unlicensed Activity Dr. Hunt
- J) Outstanding Service Award Ms. Saunders

IV) ANNUAL REGULATORY PLAN

Mr. Harris provided a description of the annual regulatory plan (ARP), including the purpose, ability to update if needed throughout the year, and the submission deadline of August 20, 2021. Discussion ensued.

A motion was made by Dr. Roberts to approve the Annual Regulatory Plan (ARP) with updates as needed in the future to meet the August 20, 2021 deadline. Ms. Ostman seconded the motion. Discussion ensued and Dr. Comerford also seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

V) PUBLIC COMMENT

Ron Watson congratulated the newly elected chair and vice chair on behalf of the Florida Chiropractic Physician's Association (FCPA).

VI) NEXT MEETING DATE

Ms. Saunders reminded the board members of the next meeting date (August 27, 2021) in Orlando, Florida.

VII) ADJOURNMENT

A motion was made by Dr. Melton to adjourn at 12:42PM. Dr. Comerford seconded the motion and it passed unanimously.